BPG Awards 2021: audio nominations revealed

Louis Theroux, Emma Barnett, Stanley Tucci, Iain Dale, DJ Ace, Seani B, Jacqui Smith, Frank Skinner and Clara Amfo are among a wide range of broadcasters shortlisted in this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) audio awards, for performances on radio and in podcasts.

Theroux is nominated for his lockdown podcast ‘Grounded with Louis Theroux’, which set out to “track down some high-profile people he’s been longing to talk to – from all walks of life and on both sides of the Atlantic”. It’s one of several BPG audio nominations reflecting issues of health and well-being during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The chair of the BPG audio jury, journalist and broadcaster Scott Bryan, said: “Radio and podcasting have been more important than ever this year, when we’ve all been apart from our friends and loved ones. Many of us have relied on audio not just to stay informed, but to stay connected and have some companionship too.

“The jury, including some of the UK’s best critics and journalists, were blown away by the quality and purpose of audio this year, covering important issues such as the coronavirus pandemic, Black Lives Matter and the importance of taking care of our own mental health.”

The BPG Television, Streaming and Audio Awards – for work commissioned or premiered in the UK and released in 2020 – are prized by programme-makers because they are chosen independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers.

This year, instead of the usual BPG Awards lunch – attended by the winners, BPG members and guests – the 47th Awards will be a virtual event at lunchtime on Friday March 12th 2021. The winners will be announced – and the awards accepted – on the BPG’s Twitter account @BPGPressAwards #BPGAwards.

Grounded with Louis Theroux (BBC Radio 4/BBC Sounds) is shortlisted as UK Podcast of the Year alongside For The Many with Iain Dale and Jacqui Smith (LBC); How Do You Cope?…with Elis and John (BBC Radio 5 Live); The Log Books, by Shivani Dave, Tash Walker and Adam Zmith; and The Stubborn Light of Things with Melissa Harrison.

Emma Barnett, the new Radio 4 Woman’s Hour presenter, is nominated as Radio Broadcaster of the Year for her Radio 5 Live morning show, which she presented till the end of 2020. She will compete with Clara Amfo (BBC Radio 1), Frank Skinner (Absolute Radio) and Matt Chorley of Times Radio, which started broadcasting in June last year.

A 1Xtra Talks Special – George Floyd and Black Lives Matter with Seani B and DJ Ace – is nominated for Radio Programme of the Year, along with #NS10v10 (No Signal), Between the Ears (BBC Radio 3), The Californian Century, presented by Stanley Tucci (BBC Radio 4) and The Great Post Office Trial (Whistledown Productions/Radio 4).

Further information from Torin Douglas, BPG, 07860 422992

Notes to editors:

  1. The winners will be announced – and the awards accepted – in a virtual ceremony at lunchtime on Friday March 12th 2021, hosted on the BPG’s Twitter account @BPGPressAwards #BPGAwards. The Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting and the BPG Jury Prize are both in the gift of the BPG Executive Committee and will be presented as well. Winners will be informed in advance.
  2. The television and streaming nominations for this year’s BPG Awards were announced on February 18th 2021: http://www.broadcastingpressguild.org/2021/02/bpg-awards-2021-nominations-revealed/
  3. The Broadcasting Press Guild was founded in 1974 and has more than 175 members. They are journalists who specialise in covering television, streaming, radio, podcasts and the media, and include critics, previewers, media correspondents and feature writers from national newspapers, broadcasters and leading trade journals and online publishers.
  4. Previous winners of the BPG Radio/Audio Broadcaster award include Alistair Cooke, Sir Terry Wogan, Sue Lawley, Samira Ahmed, James O’Brien, Jane Garvey, Emma Barnett, Nick Ferrari, Eddie Mair, Lauren Laverne, Jonathan Ross, Evan Davis, Charlotte Green, Simon Mayo, Sean Rafferty, Kirsty Young, Brian Redhead, Sir Mark Tully, Sandy Toksvig, John Finnemore, Michael Buerk, Susannah Simons and Graham Seed (Nigel Pargetter in The Archers).

The full list of nominations is:

Radio Programme of the Year

#NS10v10 (No Signal)

1Xtra Talks Special: George Floyd and Black Lives Matter with Seani B and DJ Ace (BBC Audio for BBC 1Xtra)

Between the Ears (BBC Radio 3)

The Californian Century (BBC Radio 4)

The Great Post Office Trial (Whistledown Productions/Radio 4)

Audio Broadcaster of the Year
Clara Amfo (BBC Radio 1)

Emma Barnett (BBC Radio 5 Live)

Frank Skinner (Absolute Radio)

Matt Chorley (Times Radio)

UK Podcast of the Year

For The Many with Iain Dale and Jacqui Smith (LBC)

Grounded with Louis Theroux (BBC Radio 4/BBC Sounds)

How Do You Cope? … with Elis and John (Elis James and John Robins, Audio Always for BBC Radio 5 Live)

The Log Books, produced by Shivani Dave, Tash Walker and Adam Zmith, in partnership with Switchboard – the LGBT+ helpline

The Stubborn Light of Things with Melissa Harrison (producer Peter Rogers)