Radio, audio and podcast nominations for this year’s BPG Awards revealed

BBC presenter Samira Ahmed, who recently won an employment tribunal ruling against the Corporation in a dispute over equal pay, has been shortlisted in this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) radio, audio and podcast awards, sponsored by Virgin Media.

The BBC Radio 4 Front Row and podcast presenter is nominated as BPG Audio Broadcaster of the Year, alongside Radio 4’s Paddy O’Connell, podcast presenter George The Poet (BBC Sounds) and two commercial radio presenters, Dave Berry (Absolute Radio) and Roman Kemp (Capital Radio).

George the Poet is also shortlisted for UK Podcast of the Year for Have You Heard George’s Podcast?, alongside Intrigue, Tunnel 29 (BBC Sounds), about a tunnel dug under the Berlin Wall, written and presented by Helena Merriman; and The Sun King (Audible) about Rupert Murdoch, presented by David Dimbleby.

Three BBC Radio 4 series have been nominated for the BPG Radio Programme of the Year award: In Our Time, presented by Melvyn Bragg; The Life Scientific, presented by Professor Jim Al-Khalili; and Soul Music. They will compete against BBC Radio 5 Live’s Hooked: The Unexpected Addicts, presented by Melissa Rice and Jade Wye.

The 46th annual BPG awards, sponsored by Virgin Media, will be presented next month at a lunch held at Banking Hall in the City of London.


The nominations for BPG Radio Programme of the Year are:

Hooked: The Unexpected Addicts, BBC Radio 5 Live

In Our Time, BBC Radio 4

Soul Music, BBC Radio 4

The Life Scientific, BBC Radio 4


The nominations for BPG Audio Presenter of the Year are:

Dave Berry (Absolute Radio)

George Mpanga (aka George The Poet), BBC Sounds

Paddy O’Connell, Broadcasting House, BBC Radio 4

Roman Kemp (Capital Radio)

Samira Ahmed, Front Row, BBC Radio 4, and How I Found My Voice podcast, Intelligence Squared/Acast 


The nominees for the UK Podcast of the Year award are:

Have You Heard George’s Podcast? (BBC Sounds)

Intrigue, Tunnel 29 (BBC Sounds/BBC Radio 4)

The Sun King (Audible)


Previous winners of the BPG Radio Broadcaster award include Alistair Cook, Sir Terry Wogan, Lauren Laverne, Jane Garvey, Nick Ferrari, Eddie Mair, James O’Brien, Sue Lawley, Jonathan Ross, Evan Davis, Charlotte Green, Simon Mayo, Sean Rafferty, Kirsty Young, Brian Redhead, Sir Mark Tully, Sandy Toksvig, John Finnemore, Michael Buerk, Susannah Simons and Graham Seed (Nigel Pargetter in The Archers).

The BPG Awards – given only for work commissioned or produced in the UK and broadcast in 2019 – are highly prized by programme-makers because they are selected independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers.

The Awards lunch will be held at Banking Hall on Friday March 13th 2020 and is attended by the winners, BPG members and leading broadcasting executives. It is sponsored for the fourth year by Virgin Media. For more information about Virgin Media visit

Further information from Torin Douglas, BPG, 07860 422992

Notes to editors:

  1. The winners will be announced at the 46th BPG Awards lunch at Banking Hall in the City of London on Friday March 13th 2020, sponsored by Virgin Media. The Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting, and the BPG Jury Prize are all in the gift of the BPG Executive Committee and will be presented as well. Winners will be informed in advance and places at the lunch are by invitation only
  2. Virgin Media, offers four multi award-winning services across the UK and Ireland: broadband, TV, mobile phone and landline. Its interactive TV service brings live programmes, thousands of hours of on-demand programming and the best apps and games in a set-top box, as well as on-the-go for tablets and smartphones. It launched the world’s first virtual mobile network and is also one of the largest fixed-line home phone providers in the UK and Ireland. Virgin Media is part of Liberty Global, the world’s largest international cable company, connecting over 11 million customers through operations in six countries across Europe.
  3. The television nominations for this year’s BPG Awards were announced on February 13th 2020.
  4. The Broadcasting Press Guild was founded in 1974 and has more than 140 members. They are journalists who specialise in covering television, radio and the media, and include critics, previewers, media correspondents and feature writers from national newspapers, broadcasters and leading trade journals and online publishers.