Radio nominations for 37th Broadcasting Press Guild Awards

Graham Seed, who played Nigel Pargetter in The Archers for 27 years, has been shortlisted in the radio section of this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild Awards.

He has been nominated as Radio Broadcaster of the Year, following the death of his character on January 2nd 2011. Nigel fell from the roof of Lower Loxley Hall, in a storyline marking the Radio 4 programme’s 60th anniversary.

The other nominees are Sarah Montague, presenter of Radio 4’s Today, and the late Brian Hanrahan, BBC correspondent and presenter of Radio 4’s The World at One and The World This Weekend.

The nominations for Radio Programme of the Year are the comedy series Ed Reardon’s Week and two factual programmes – The Reunion and Archive on 4 – all on BBC Radio 4.

The BPG awards are highly prized by programme-makers because they are selected independently, by journalists who write about TV and radio – correspondents, critics and previewers. Previous winners of the Radio Broadcaster award include Alistair Cook, Sir Terry Wogan, Eddie Mair, Sue Lawley, Jonathan Ross, Evan Davis, Simon Mayo, Sean Rafferty, Sandi Toksvig, Kirsty Young, Michael Buerk and Ray Moore.

The winners will be announced at the BPG Awards lunch at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane on Friday March 25th, 2011, together with the television awards, the Innovation Award and the Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting. Winners will be informed in advance and places at the lunch are by invitation only.

The BPG Awards lunch is sponsored by Dave, the “home of witty banter”, one of ten channels broadcast by leading multi-channel operator UKTV: The event will be attended by the winners, BPG members and leading broadcasting executives.

Nominations for the BPG television awards were announced on Thursday February 24th and can be seen on the BPG website.

The Broadcasting Press Guild was founded in 1974 and has more than a hundred members – journalists who specialise in covering television, radio and the media. They include critics, previewers, media correspondents and feature writers from national newspapers, broadcasters and leading trade journals and websites. Details of previous BPG Awards winners can be found at

Further information from Torin Douglas, BPG,  020 8624 9052