Innovation Award

Innovation in Broadcasting award for Charlie Brooker’s Black Mirror: Bandersnatch

Since 2006 the BPG Innovation Award has been given to recognise original thinking across programming, production and technology.

List of winners of the Innovation Award

2019: Black Mirror: Bandersnatch, for a ground-breaking form of storytelling.
A House of Tomorrow production for Netflix

2018: Channel 4 for new advances in championing diversity, including initiatives such as Spotlight on Directors and diversity throughout its commissioning and in its advertising.

2017: Exodus: Our Journey to Europe
For innovative use of crowd-sourced content & camera phones, including first-person points of view from refugees themselves to tell a compelling story about the migrant crisis
A Keo Films production for BBC Two

2016: Russell T Davies for creating the multiplatform drama series Cucumber, Banana and Tofu, for the differing, but interlinked audiences of Channel 4, E4 and All 4.
2015: Vice News for The Islamic State and other original commissions
2014: Sky Television – for 25 years of innovation
2013 BBC Olympics
2012 Monterosa Productions & Remarkable Television for the online game linked to Channel 4’s The Million Pound Drop)
2011 Sky News, the BBC and ITV in recognition of the General Election Leaders Debate
2010 Sky Arts
2009 BBC iPlayer (BBC Future Media & Technology, for bringing online catch-up TV to a mass audience)
2008 Bebo (LG15 Studios for Bebo)
2007 Planet Earth – pioneering film and production techniques (BBC Natural History Unit co-production with BBC Worldwide, Discovery and NHK for BBC One)
2006 BBC Radio and Music Interactive

Comment Box