Harvey Lee Award

Jon Snow, winner of the 2022 Harvey Lee Award, with Marilyn Lee and the BPG chair Grant Tucker

Harvey Lee (1950 – 1991) was a leading light in the BPG throughout the 1980s. He worked as the media correspondent for the Daily Telegraph and was successively Guild secretary, annual Awards organiser and BPG Chairman. It was Harvey who launched sponsorship for the annual Awards lunch so that we could progress from the enjoyable but down market events in London cellars to a hugely successful ten years at the Royal Opera House before moving in 1998 to our present venue, the Theatre Royal Drury Lane.

In June 1991, Harvey was tragically diagnosed with cancer, but this did not stop his passion for journalism; he was working at the TV Festival in Cannes, France, only a couple of weeks before he died at the appallingly early age of 41, leaving a wife and two young daughters. The Guild responded by raising a benefit for the family and instituting the ‘Harvey Lee Award’ in his memory. It was agreed that it should be presented to an individual or a group for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting and that each year’s winner should be decided, after due discussion, by the Guild’s Executive Committee.

The Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting was first awarded in 1992 and has been presented by Harvey’s wife Marilyn every year since. See photographs of Marilyn with John Snow in 2022, above, and with Greg Dyke in 2004, below.

List of Winners: Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting

2024: Andy Harries, CEO and co-founder, Left Bank Pictures –
Awards speech: UK television at risk of being a ‘service industry’ to the US
2023: Jeremy Paxman, Presenter/Journalist, Newsnight, Panorama, Breakfast Time and University Challenge
2022: Jon Snow, Channel 4 News
2021: John McVay, CEO PACT on behalf of all who created the Film & TV Production Restart Scheme
2020: Moira Stuart OBE
Nicholas Parsons CBE, Actor, presenter & game show host, in particular, recognition of more than 50 years of presenting Radio 4’s Just A Minute.
Biddy Baxter & Edward Barnes, children’s television producers, in special recognition of Blue Peter.
2017: Norma Percy, Brook Lapping
2016: John Lloyd, Writer and Producer
2015: Lenny Henry, Comedian, Writer, Actor, TV presenter, Activist 
2014: Andrew Davies, Writer
2013: John Humphrys, Journalist and Broadcaster
2012: Beryl Vertue, founder and chairman, Hartswood Films
2011: Tony Warren, Writer and Creator of Coronation Street
2010: Sir Terry Wogan, Broadcaster
2009: Sir David Frost, Broadcaster and Producer
2008: Phil Redmond, Founder & Chief Executive, Mersey Television (Grange Hill, BBC One; Brookside, Channel 4; Hollyoaks, Channel 4)
2007: Anne Wood, Ragdoll Productions
2006: Melvyn Bragg, Producer/Presenter, The South Bank Show
2005: Sir Denis Forman: former Chairman and Managing Director, Granada Television
2004: Greg Dyke, former Director-General, BBC
2003: Brian Lapping, Journalist and founder Brook Lapping
2002: Jim Moir, former BBC Head of Light Entertainment and Controller, Radio 2
2001: Ted Childs, Executive producer, Inspector Morse
2000: Cilla Black, Entertainer
1999: News At Ten (ITN for ITV)
1998: Michael Wearing, Head of Drama Serials, BBC Television
1997: Michael Grade, Chief Executive, Channel 4
1996: Charles Wheeler, BBC Journalist
1995: Richard Dunn, Chairman, Thames Television
1994: David Attenborough, Presenter and Producer
1993: David Hatch, former Managing Director, BBC Radio
1992: John Tusa, former head of BBC World Service

Marilyn Lee with Greg Dyke, the 2004 Harvey Lee Award winner (certificate says 2003 because our Awards date used to refer to the year programmes were shown, not when they were presented. Dyke left the BBC in January 2004, after publication of the Hutton Report.)

Marilyn Lee (centre) with Anne Wood, the 2007 Harvey Lee Award winner, and BPG chair Conor Dignam


Comment Box