Bruce Forsyth and John Plunkett

The ITV drama series Broadchurch, which held millions of viewers transfixed for weeks, won three awards at the 40th Broadcasting Press Guild Awards. Olivia Colman was named best actress for her role as DS Ellie Miller and the drama’s creator, Chris Chibnall, won the BPG writer award. Broadchurch was also named best drama series.View the 2014 Awards Gallery and See More Photos on our Facebook Page

Best Single Drama
The Wipers Times (BBC Two)
A Trademark Films Production for the BBC & Northern Ireland Screen in association with Goldcrest

Best Drama Series
A Kudos & Imaginary Friends production for ITV

Best Single Documentary
Syria: Across the Lines
A Quicksilver Media production for Channel 4 & WGBH’s Frontline

Best Documentary Series
Educating Yorkshire
A Twofour Broadcast Ltd. production for Channel 4

Best Entertainment/Comedy
Strictly Come Dancing
A BBC In-house Entertainment production for BBC One

Best Multichannel Programme
The Tunnel
A co-production of Kudos & Shine France Films in association with Filmlance for Sky Atlantic HD & CANAL+

Best Factual Entertainment
A Studio Lambert Production for Channel 4

Radio Broadcaster of the Year
The Nick Ferrari Breakfast Show on LBC

Radio Programme of the Year
Tweet of the Day
A BBC Natural History Unit production for BBC Radio 4

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor – Dancing on the Edge
A Ruby Film and Television & ITV Studios Global Entertainment co-production, in association with Endgame Entertainment & Playground, Creative England & LipSync Productions for BBC Two

Best Actress
Olivia Colman – Broadchurch
A Kudos & Imaginary Friends production for ITV

Best Writer
Chris Chibnall – Broadchurch
A Kudos & Imaginary Friends production for ITV

Breakthrough Award
Jamie Dornan – The Fall
A Fables production in association with Artists Studio for BBC Two

Innovation Award
Sky Television – for 25 years of innovation

Harvey Lee Award
Andrew Davies

Comment Box