Innovation Award

Channel 4’s Black to Front Project and ongoing inclusion initiatives team with BPG Chair Grant Tucker

Since 2006, the BPG Innovation Award has recognised original thinking across programming, production and technology.

Here is a list of winners:

2023: No winner
2022: Channel 4’s Black to Front Project and ongoing inclusion initiatives

2021:  The BBC for its Lockdown Learning initiative

2020: No winner

2019: Black Mirror: Bandersnatch, for a ground-breaking form of storytelling

2018: Channel 4 for new advances in championing diversity, including initiatives such as Spotlight on Directors and diversity throughout its commissioning and in its advertising

2017: Exodus: Our Journey to Europe for innovative use of crowd-sourced content & camera phones, including first-person points of view from refugees themselves to tell a compelling story about the migrant crisis

2016: Russell T Davies for creating the multiplatform drama series Cucumber, Banana and Tofu, for the differing, but interlinked audiences of Channel 4, E4 and All 4.

2015: Vice News for The Islamic State and other original commissions
2014: Sky Television – for 25 years of innovation
2013: BBC Olympics
2012: Monterosa Productions & Remarkable Television for the online game linked to Channel 4’s The Million Pound Drop)
2011: Sky News, the BBC and ITV in recognition of the General Election Leaders Debate
2010: Sky Arts
2009: BBC iPlayer (BBC Future Media & Technology, for bringing online catch-up TV to a mass audience)
2008: Bebo (LG15 Studios for Bebo)
2007: Planet Earth – pioneering film and production techniques (BBC Natural History Unit co-production with BBC Worldwide, Discovery and NHK for BBC One)
2006: BBC Radio and Music Interactive

Comment Box