How the Awards Work


The Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) pulls together nominations for our annual BPG Television and Radio Awards in the last month of the year.  Members vote in following January (in two rounds) and our gala Awards Lunch takes place in mid-March every year.

The BPG Awards are for programmes aired in the prior calendar year to the March Awards Lunch, so the 2019 Awards Lunch honours programmes aired in 2018. To be eligible, all nominations must be UK programmes, meaning they must be produced or co-produced by UK production companies or broadcaster/publishers.

Nominations are open from the middle of November to the end of December in the Awards Year.

The nominations for both the TV, Streaming and Radio Awards are gathered from our membership, led by an expert Critics Committee headed by a TV Nominations Chair. The same process is undertaken with the Radio and Audio Awards which has its own Chair. While we don’t require nominations from producers or broadcasters, we are happy to receive nominations from the same in the format noted at the bottom of this page. Bearing this in mind, please feel free to email the BPG Radio Committee Chair or the TV Nominations Chair with any suggestions. See “Contacts” on this website.

The BPG Award Categories:

The television landscape is constantly evolving, and we try to adjust our categories to reflect this. For example, the BPG considers many multi-channel/non-PSB programmers to be sufficiently established in their UK commissions and audiences to be considered alongside their PSB counterparts. Accordingly, Multi-channel/Non-PSB programmes will be judged in all of the BPG TV Awards categories.

However, we recognise there remains a bias towards PSB programmes in the first round of voting, and we’re keen to acknowledge the best non-PSB programmes as well. Therefore, we place the winning non-PSB titles from Round One through to the next round of voting in each category. Please note that the BPG Executive Committee will also have final review of the non-PSB titles that move through to the final round, for example, in the case of a tie. In the Final Round of voting the non-PSBs winners from Round One of our members voting that attract a significant number of votes will be placed into an all-encompassing Best of Multichannel category. In addition, there is a separate category for Streaming/Online First programmes.

There are three Radio/Audio categories:

  • Best Radio Programme;
  • Radio Broadcaster of the Year;
  • Best Podcast of the Year

There are 11 TV categories:

  • Best Single Drama or Miniseries;
  • Best Drama Series;
  • Best Single Documentary (factual);
  • Best Documentary Series (factual);
  • Best Comedy;
  • Best Entertainment/Factual Entertainment (format)
  • Best Actor;
  • Best Actress;
  • Best Writer;
  • Best Multichannel Programme
  • Best Streaming/Digital First Award – for the latter, entries must be commissioned and shown first online, i.e. not as a promotional window before linear transmission.

How to Nominate Programmes:

External broadcasters and producers may email the appropriate BPG Awards chair with the following information:

Name of programme:

Genre type:

Date of air and channel/platform of first TX:



Three-sentence description with list of key talent, where applicable:

Ratings or other performance stats:

Why this is a winning programme:

Thanks for your interest in the BPG Awards.


Comment Box