BPG Awards 2022: Audio Nominations Revealed

Historians Tom Holland and Dominic Sandbrook; music presenters Petroc Trelawney, Vick Hope and Jamz Supernova; and journalists Amol Rajan, Aasmah Mir, Iain Dale and Jon Ronson are among the nominees for this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) audio awards, encompassing radio and podcasts.

Holland and Sandbrook’s podcast The Rest Is History has been shortlisted as UK Podcast of the Year, alongside the literary podcast Backlisted, with John Mitchinson and Andy Miller; Nicky Woolf’s Finding Q: My Journey into QAnon; Tortoise Media’s Sweet Bobby; and Things Fell Apart, presented by Jon Ronson.

Amol Rajan from BBC Radio 4 has been nominated as Audio Presenter of the Year, alongside Aasmah Mir who presents Times Radio Breakfast with Stig Abell, Iain Dale of LBC, Petroc Trelawny of BBC Radio 3 and Vick Hope of BBC Radio 1.

Aasmah Mir and Stig Abell with Times Radio Breakfast is also nominated as Radio Programme of the Year, alongside Jamz Supernova on 6 (BBC 6 Music), The Eco Show (Marlow FM 97.5) Uncanny with Danny Robins (BBC Radio 4) and Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4).

The chair of the BPG audio jury, journalist and broadcaster Scott Bryan, said: “Once again the jury, consisting of many of the best critics and writers in the country, were blown away with the quality and variety of audio on offer. Whittling down our longlist of entries to our eventual shortlist and winner in each category was a bit of a nightmare, but it just goes to show the strength of British audio at the moment.”

The BPG Television, Streaming and Audio Awards – for work commissioned or premiered in the UK and screened in 2021 – are prized by programme-makers because they are chosen independently by radio and TV correspondents, critics and previewers.

The 48th annual BPG Awards ceremony – attended by the winners, BPG members and guests – will take place at lunchtime on Friday March 25th 2022 at The Brewery in the City of London. It will be supported for the first time by YouTube, the video sharing and social media platform owned by Google.

Further information from Torin Douglas, BPG, 07860 422992

Notes to editors

  1. The winners will be announced at the 48th BPG Awards lunch on Friday March 25th 2022, at The Brewery in the City of London, sponsored by YouTube. The Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting is in the gift of the BPG Executive Committee and will be presented as well.
  2. The BPG Twitter handle for the Awards is @BPGPressGuild and the hashtag is #BPGAwards.
  3. Launched in 2005, YouTube’s mission is to give everyone a voice and show them the world. It says: “We believe that everyone deserves to have a voice, and that the world is a better place when we listen, share and build community through our stories.” YouTube is a Google company.
  4. The BPG Television, Streaming and Audio Awards are presented for work commissioned or premiered in the UK and screened in 2021. Programmes which were first streamed online are nominated and voted for alongside broadcast channel commissions originating in the UK.
  5. The Television and Streaming shortlists were announced on February 24th 2022: http://www.broadcastingpressguild.org/2022/02/bpg-awards-2022-television-and-streaming-nominations/
  6. The Broadcasting Press Guild was founded in 1974 and has more than 175 members. They are journalists who specialise in covering television, streaming, radio podcasts and the media, and include critics, previewers, media correspondents and feature writers from national newspapers, broadcasters and leading trade journals and online publishers.
  7. Previous winners of the BPG Radio/Audio Broadcaster award include Alistair Cooke, Sir Terry Wogan, Sue Lawley, Samira Ahmed, James O’Brien, Jane Garvey, Emma Barnett, Nick Ferrari, Eddie Mair, Lauren Laverne, Jonathan Ross, Evan Davis, Charlotte Green, Simon Mayo, Sean Rafferty, Kirsty Young, Brian Redhead, Sir Mark Tully, Sandy Toksvig, John Finnemore, Michael Buerk, Susannah Simons and Clara Amfo.

The full list of nominations is:


Radio Programme of the Year

Jamz Supernova on 6 (BBC Radio 6 Music)

Aasmah Mir and Stig Abell with Times Radio Breakfast (Times Radio)

The Eco Show (Marlow FM 97.5)

Uncanny, with Danny Robins (BBC Radio 4)

Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4)


UK Podcast of the Year

Backlisted (Unbound)

Finding Q: My Journey into QAnon (Audible)

Sweet Bobby (Tortoise Media)
The Rest Is History (Goalhanger Films)
Things Fell Apart – Jon Ronson (BBC Radio 4 and BBC Sounds)

Audio Presenter of the Year

Aasmah Mir (Times Radio)

Amol Rajan (BBC Radio 4)

Iain Dale (LBC)

Petroc Trelawny (BBC Radio 3)

Vick Hope (BBC Radio 1)